Sweet Potato Chickpea Curry

I have recently discovered a love of indian food. Very recently- last week in fact when my honey brought me to a great organic indian restaurant in the South End of Boston. Yesterday for lunch I decided to try to duplicate a recipe I devoured there. I quickly found a recipe that not only met my two most important criteria, delicious and nutritious; but also was cheap, easy, and quick. Win win win. Instead of including directions below my ingredient list per usual, I’ll keep it simple for ya. Put all ingredients in a big pot, bring to boil, lower to simmer and let it simmer gently for 35 minutes. Voila. I ate this over some brown rice but it is hearty enough to eat alone or with some crusty whole wheat bread. For those of you that care, behind it’s great taste, this stew is vegan, filled with protein and fiber, and loaded with beta-carotene. Remember when your mom told you to eat your carrots so you would be able to see well? This recipe has got you covered.

Serves 4

  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 Cup coconut milk or veggie broth ( I used coconut as I had it in-house but the other two would work fine)
  • 1 15-ounce cans chickpeas (garbanzo beans), drained and rinsed
  • One 14 1/2-ounce can fire-roasted tomatoes
  • 1 Large Sweet Potato Cut Into 1 Inch Chunks (Can use any type of potato you have or prefer)
  • 1 medium onion, diced (about 1 cup)
  • 1 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 3 teaspoons minced ginger
  • 1-2 teaspoons salt
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 2 teaspoons ground coriander
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper


Leave a Reply

