I’m NOT Lovin’ It

I often pass this sign in my way out of Charlestown:

“Real fruit, blended just for you” they say. I don’t know about you but for me this conjures images of whole strawberries, bananas, some liquid and ice whirring together. Fresh, healthy, delicious. Au contraire my friends. The McDonald’s smoothie is actually made out of chemical laden, pre-made fruit concentrate, fake yogurt and ice. As you can see from the ingredient list below, this “healthy” food option is far from good for you:

Cultured Grade A reduced fat milk, sugar, whey protein concentrate, fructose, corn starch, gelatin, Strawberry puree, banana puree, water, sugar, concentrated apple juice, cellulose powder, natural (botanical source) and artificial flavors, xanthan gum, citric acid, colored with fruit and vegetable juice, pectin, ascorbic acid (preservative).

A medium smoothie contains 54 grams of sugar (a full snicker’s bar has 30 grams), 260 calories and almost zero nutritional value. What bugs me the most is not that McDonald’s is selling food that is contributing to the obesity epidemic and healthcare crisis we have in our nation today but that they are trying to sell it to people as healthy. Just be honest about what you are. Don’t trick your poor consumers into thinking they are doing something good for their bodies when they are actually harming them. I’d rather eat a Snickers. Sorry to be soap-boxey/depressing today folks. Just had to get it off my chest. I promise tomorrow’s post will be all pretty, happy things:)


2 Comments on “I’m NOT Lovin’ It”

  1. Karen Fabian says:

    I think the same thing when I see their sign. I would be wary of anything served at these major fast food chains masquerading as healthy because it most likely, as you have demonstrated above, is not.


Leave a Reply

