What A Difference A Year Makes

Today is a moment for reflection. It is my birthday. It is also the day, 1 year ago exactly, that I left my corporate life to follow my passion for yoga. I remember on this day last year, feeling so incredibly grateful. I had just started this blog. You can see the post from that day here and my very first post detailing why I was making the life change here. I was so grateful, brimming with the excited energy  that comes with major changes and raring to go. When I left Forrester, my intention was to teach yoga. Just that. I thought I had found my calling, what I was going to do with the rest of my life. It didn’t take too long though before I started to miss business. This is a story I tell in pretty much every sales call I go on now. How my it was the combination of business experience and passion that created  YogaSource Boston. Because yoga alone wasn’t right and just business without deep love for your product wasn’t enough, but together it is perfect. I decided to start my company on August 7th of last year. It was the biggest risk I have really ever taken: putting myself out there, completely vulnerable, MBA-less…alone. But I just did it, figuring the worst case scenario was failure and I knew while not ideal, that I could handle that. Slowly, surely, with the support of my amazing family, friends, and my beloved, I built something. Something that I am really proud of and makes me very happy, very fulfilled. On this birthday, I am about to take office space, am planning to grow the team beyond my 16 amazing teachers to folks that can help grow the business and am proud to serve a client roster of 22 companies.

The point of this musing I suppose is that BOY, what a difference a year makes. Sometimes we get caught up with what we will do in the future, down the road. Better job, graduate degree, redecorate the house, make more of an effort with siblings. Maybe we will get to all those things in a few years, next year, I’ll do it next year. But what this year has taught me is to just do it, man. Do it now, do it now. Why wait? You can accomplish so  much if you start taking baby steps in the right direction. Work slowly, steadily and you will find yourself with something significant in a shorter time then you could imagine.

Just do it. Life is too short to live in a place where you are not chasing happiness.


5 Comments on “What A Difference A Year Makes”

  1. Jaqueline says:

    Congratulations on a successful year. I wish the the happiest of birthdays! XO

  2. Anonymous says:

    just do it CYO! The CTO.

  3. sdg says:

    Alexandra,
    Reading this on the morning of our birthday (having spent many of your birthdays with you on the ski slopes as a child) was very inspirational to me personally and I am sure to many. This is just the beginning … xx

  4. Erich says:

    Love your post, and congratulations on all your success. I’m so happy for you!

    Carpe Diem

  5. Ruthie says:

    That’s my girl!


Leave a Reply

